Tag spiritual enlightenment

Tag spiritual enlightenment

Yoga Poses + Meditation = Perfection in Spirit

Tags: , , , The Truth About Yoga No comments
featured image

The third stage of the eight-fold Yoga Sutras of the great exponent of yoga Maharishi Patanjali is known as asana, meaning simply posture.

Every serious yogi must study and practice them if he or she wants to reach the ultimate goal of yoga - the perfect bliss in the spirit.

The third stage on the eightfold path is known as asana, which means, simply, posture. Some writers have tried to make the point that Patanjali refers here to the need for practicing the yoga pos- tures as a preparation for meditation. But Patanjali was talking, not of prac- tices, but of the different stages of spiri- tual development. Here, then, posture means no particular set of postures, but only the ability to hold the body still as a prerequisite for deep meditation.

Read More